Community Development Block Grant (TxCDBG) Program

The Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) grants funds to rural Texas cities and counties for basic infrastructure projects such as water/wastewater facilities, street improvements and drainage.  Each of Texas’ twenty-four (24) regional councils, known as Councils of Governments, has its own Regional Review Committee (RRC).  Each RRC is comprised of twelve (12) local elected officials, appointed by the TDA Commissioner.  The role of each Regional Review Committee is to participate in the process for determining regional scoring priorities for projects funded through the Texas CDBG’s Community Development Fund, and is responsible for developing the objective scoring criteria.

The SETRPC Regional Review Committee held a public hearing, May 10, 2018 at 9:00 a.m. at the SETRPC Offices to determine scoring criteria for the 2019-2020 SETRPC Regional Review Committee Guidebook.  Below is a copy of the Guidebook which has been adopted by TDA for use with the 2019-2020 funding cycle.

SETRPC 2019-2020 Regional Review Committee Guidebook

TxCDBG Highlights

Eligible Areas
Non-entitlement cities and counties

Eligible Applicants
Non-entitlement cities and counties

Grant Maximum (Limits set biennially by the RRC)
Single Jurisdiction Projects – $275,000
Multi Jurisdiction Projects – $350,000

Applicant Match
Cash match of 20% – 0%

Eligible Projects
Public infrastructure improvements, economic development activities and activities to address situations that pose an imminent threat to public health and safety.