Economic Development


The South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC) strives to promote economic development and job creation throughout the four-county region of Southeast Texas. SETRPC coordinates with economic development entities to assist communities, cities, and counties in the region with reaching their economic goals through tourism, planning, and development.

The South East Texas Economic Development District, Inc. was formed in 1993, and the Transportation & Environmental Resources Division of SETRPC provides staff support for the district. The U.S. Economic Development Administration’s Economic Development District designation provides the Southeast Texas region with an advantage regarding Federal and State economic development programs. In late 2021, the Governor of Texas approved Jasper County’s request to join the SETRPC. Jasper County is gradually being incorporated into all plans and programs.

The Commission’s economic development program includes such activities as assistance in tourism promotion, provision of economic and demographic data, and technical and funding assistance to various economic development organizations.