Economic Development

South East Texas Economic Development District (SETEDD)

What is the South East Texas Economic Development District?
The South East Texas Economic Development District (SETEDD) was created in the spring of 1993 to facilitate the flow of the U.S. Department of Commerce and Economic Development Administration’s grant and loan funds for creating new jobs and/or saving existing jobs in the southeast Texas region. The SETEDD consist of Jefferson, Orange, Hardin, and Jasper County. Jasper County joined the SETRPC in late 2021 and is gradually being incorporated into all plans and programs.

How does the SETEDD function?
The SETEDD is a non-profit corporation governed by a Board of Directors composed of twenty-seven persons nominated by each County Commissioner’s Court from throughout the four-county region. Board members represent a cross-section of the region’s population and economic interests. Staff support for the SETEDD is provided by the South East Texas Regional Planning Commission’s Transportation and Environmental Resources Division.

Vision and Mission of SETEDD
The mission of the Board is to promote the diversification of the economic base and the growth, development, and retention of business and industry within the four-county region.

Benefits of SETEDD

  • Assistance is provided to a public or private entity in the Region in pursuing EDA grant or loan funds for local projects.
  • Applicants for EDA construction grants receive a 10% discount (Total project cost=60% federal/40% local)
  • Districts are eligible to receive planning funds from EDA on a 75%/25% basis to help pay administrative costs associated with keeping district eligibility current.
  • A database of statistics is available to anyone seeking grant or loan funds.